Banana Oatmeal Peanut Butter and Garlic?! Dog Treats

We have fleas. Lots and lots of fleas. Fleas in the yard. Fleas in the house. Fleas on the dog. Fleas on the cat. No fleas meds are working and I don’t want to bomb the house although I’ve thought about setting it on fire (kidding, the hardwood floors and kitchen cabinets took too long to install, I’m never moving). 

These fleas are angry right now. Last week I put down borax everywhere. All the big adult fleas were gone for two glorious days. Then the babies hatched and started jumping around and making Judah’s poor legs look like a mosquito bite graveyard. They are angry and tiny and way more fierce than the big ones were. 

And y’all, I HATE vacuuming. Firey passion hate. But these little angry fleas are making me vacuum every blessed day.

My poor cat is so out of sorts he deficated in the tub so he wouldn’t have to leave the bathroom and traipse across the carpet to the litter box in the hall. So now we have a cat who won’t leave the bathroom, a litter box in the bathroom and rust colored spots everywhere not to mention itchy ankles. 

We sprayed the yard and put granules down. The adorable blasted little bunnies, chipmunks and evil squirrels are inevitably the culprit of this yard flea infestation. 

I’m desperate to try to to reduce the fleas in our home because I am REALLY not wanting to bomb our house. Especially since the research I’ve done shows it doesn’t kill the eggs or whatever and the little buggers survive and I am NOT cleaning my whole house top to bottom from a bomb more than once. So no bombs at all. 

But what I did find is this recipe that helps keep little hitting hellions at bay. The best part is how easy they were to make! 


Banana Oatmeal Peanut Butter and Garlic?! Dog Treats

Ingredients: 

1 large banana (mine was extra ripe, because my son LOVES bananas one week and HATES them the next) 

2 Tablespoons Peanut Butter (I actually used PB Fit peanut butter powder and added 3T powder and 2T water and then used this for the “flour” to roll it out. 

1.5 cups Oatmeal–ground in blender to a powder-ish flour (or oat flour or wheat flour or let’s be real white flour… Whatever you are comfy feeding your dog) 

2-3 cloves minced garlic (I used 3 small cloves) **


1. Ground oatmeal into a flour or flour-ish consistency. Reserve a table spoon to use as dusting for rolling out the treats. I used PB powder for this so I didn’t bother. I used a ninja to pulverize my pats into flour and it worked great. I would think a blender would be fine too.. Or perhaps a coffee grinder? Use what you have. 

2. Mix in minced garlic, banana and peanut butter/peanut powder and water. Combine until a ball forms. My ball was a bit too wet since I eyeballed my measurements so I dusted the counter with the PB powder and then kneeled the dough a few times adding some powder to get the right consistency.

3. Dust the counter with the reserved flour (or PB powder or plain flour). And then roll your dough out. I used my hands but you could definitely use a rolling pin. I just knew it would sit in my sink for days because I hate hand washing things and it was my grandmothers pin so I try not to use it unless I know I’m going to wash it… Today was not that day. I “rolled” it out to about 1/3 inch or so. 


4. You could totally be fancy and use cute cookie cutters and make fun shapes. But Tuesday-evening-Lindsay was not in the mood–see step 3. So I grabbed my pizza cutter and sliced that puppy up (see what I did there? Sheepish smile). 

5. Then I spatula scooped them onto a parchment-paper-lined cookie sheet and put them in a preheated 350 degree oven for 10-13 minutes or until the edges are brown. (Seriously though, I just poked them. The things are brown so how am I going to really know when the edges are brown?! This step is only to evaporate some moisture so just make sure they aren’t gooey…) 

6. Let them cool and then toss them in a jar! I’d say they’d last about 2 weeks or so, but I’m hoping to remember to feed them all to my dog over the next few days. He loves them and I WANT him to eat them and become unpalabale to the little flea monsters. 


He is sticking his tongue out. He is so smart. Ignore my incredibly dirty floors, that is so far down on my priority list atleast I vacuumed them. Yes, vacuumed. I have so little patience for rightness recently. Did I mention I have fleas? 

**Garlic is super controversial. But the amount in the treats and the benefits for me outweighed the risks. Use your brain. If you are uncomfortable don’t use it and these are just good treats with no flea repelling power. Considering there are 2-3 cloves in the whole jar and he gets maybe 1/10th of the jar a day, and he is huge–he is fine. But again. To each their own and use your judgement. 

Leave a Reply

