Philadelphia, the First

First, a little background on the title of my post. Almost as soon as I knew we were pregnant, I set up a hashtag for the baby: #babypowell3rd. This is a spin off of the email I made when lindsaypowell and every other combination of my name was taken: LPowell3rd. Since I am Mrs. Clifford Powell the 3rd, the 3rd got slapped on the end. But I wanted to be able to differentiate between future babies if hashtagging is still #thethingtodowhenyoudontlikeusingthespacebar. (IE the thing to do when you dont like using the space bar)

So “#babypowell3rd, the first” was kind of how I referenced our little guy–mostly in photo albums and such.

Well now that we are moving to Philadelphia, I feel it is like our new pregnancy. As Cliff said for 8.5 of the 9 months I was pregnant, “I am pregnant with expectation.” Which was his response when I said he didn’t understand what all was happening. So that’s that.

Philadelphia, the First. With great expectation we are scrambling to put the final pieces together for this new church. Our garage is full of lighting equipment and trusses. Pastor Joey has two ginormous tvs in boxes in his living room. Lauren, our kid’s pastor, has swings, pack n plays, coloring books, walkers, diapers and more in her living room. Our team is gathering supplies and finding volunteers–but so much more is still needed.

As each day passes we are more aware of how much God has to be in this for it to happen. In the human, we didn’t want to be where we are planting, but it’s worked out so much more than we ever could have imagined. We thought we would be targeting hipsters and young adults, and while we will still minister and reach out to that age group, Port Richmond will be reached through its children. There are kids everywhere. I cannot express how different this plant is in my eyes that what I imagined. However, my imagination is a great fooler at times.

I am increasingly aware of the fact that Judah was born at a specific time in our lives. We started going to Bible studies for #TheBlockChurch in March of this year, and Judah was due to arrive just 6 short weeks later. I remember telling the group the first time we met that I was due in 6 weeks and all of them were shocked and excited. Well now that Judah is 13 weeks old and surrounded by mommies, I know that he was due to arrive in this season. Especially since we will reach this area through the children. Who is a new mom who clearly needs advice?! #thisgirl #LPowell3rd

Thank you Jesus for always knowing better than I. Keep your angels around my family and my team as we continue on this journey you have set before us. Only you know the vastness of our struggles, the solutions and the timeline. While I wish you would share your iCal with me, I know your timing is perfect and you always take care of your children. May it all be for Your glory. Amen!

Isaiah 55:8-9

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LordAs the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

 

Leave a Reply

