Fabric Strip Garland

Fabric Garland Tutorial

fabric garland 1

This was an extremely easy project to do and I know it is going to look gorgeous for my sister in law’s lingerie shower. The theme is Mustaches and Lips. The colors are Red, Black, Grey and Champagne. I plan on hanging this from either the staircase, behind her on the wall, or behind the food table/gift table. I haven’t quite decided yet!

fabric garland 2

To do this project you will need:

Fabric, Ribbon, Burlap, anything you can make strips of that are about a foot to a food and a half long. Remember you are tying them in the middle, so if you want it a certain length, double it.

Scissors

A spool of ribbon

Two sturdy objects, in my case I just used my fridge door and the door handle to my pantry.

Instructions:

All you have to do is tie your ribbon to the two objects, cut your fabric or ribbon into strips (I did varying strips of 1 inch to about 3 inches), and tie them around the ribbon. I did loose knots so it covered more of the ribbon, space wise.

And viola! A beautiful ribbon/fabric strip garland. Pretty easy huh? I am already in love with it. I just need more red and black!

UPDATE: 3/27/13 Added reds and blacks and a few whites from the scrap fabric section of Walmart. πŸ™‚ Fabric GarlandSome of my reds are flipped backwards, but they are there and they will be pulled down when I have the shower for my sister in law πŸ™‚ So EXCITED!

2 thoughts on “Fabric Strip Garland

  1. I saw a garland like yours on Etsy. I really liked it & was hoping to find a tutorial. Thank you so much for telling me how to make one myself!!! Yours turned out beautiful!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

