Forgiveness is a Fragrance

Mark Twain

I sat in a Bible study last night, the first night of our new book, Choosing Forgiveness: Your Journey to Freedom by Nancy Leigh DeMoss. I didn’t talk much. I was torn between thinking I didn’t even need to be there, and knowing I needed to be there. It’s easy to know what to say when someone asks you a direct question, one on one. But in a group setting it becomes easy to skirt the line between gossip and slander, and just telling what happened to you. I knew if I opened up, I couldn’t stop.

I got an email a few minutes ago, the first correspondence in nearly 4 years. I scowled at the screen. It was a harmless email. It was a nice email. Why was I scowling? I drank the poison, expecting someone else to die.

I was the perfect little church girl. I rarely did wrong. I scared myself out of cussing in 7th grade. The reputation I had built throughout my whole life, structured around integrity, honesty, purity and faithfulness was shattered. My reputation had been tarnished by something I didn’t do. I hadn’t wronged someone, I had been wronged. I thought I had chosen to forgive, but right now, sitting in my inbox is a reminder that I clearly didn’t.

My husband has been so quick to forgive, faith is so easy to him. The brush-it-off and move on mentality. Well, I’ve been brushing and shaking and jumping for nearly 4 years–clearly that method doesn’t work for me. Lord help me to forgive and move on, even when I know they won’t know how they have affected me.

{Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it. – Mark Twain} 

“Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” – Hebrews 4:16

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” – Matthew 11:28

One thought on “Forgiveness is a Fragrance

  1. Sharing and gossip are separated by your heart. God knows your heart and sometimes it helps so physically say something, get it out of your system, spit out “the poison”, and begin the process…..its a process, something that takes.time, patience, and work. You can do it 🙂

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless Phone

Leave a Reply

