DIY: Cinnamon Apple Ornaments

I love cinnamon, so when I realized how easy it was to make cinnamon (or spice) ornaments, I knew it was my next Pinterest project. Here is the original photo

20121223-075343.jpg
(http://www.katyelliott.com/blog/2011/12/cinnamon-applesauce-heart-ornaments.html)

The tutorial at katyelliot.com was beautiful and perfect, however I didn’t have easy measurements of cinnamon. I had 3oz jars I got from Dollar Tree (WAY cheaper than any superstore or grocery). But 3oz doesn’t translate to cups and 1/2 cups as easy as you might think. I whipped up a proportion (probably the most useful math I’ll ever do) and pretty much it’s one part applesauce to one and a half parts cinnamon, plus a little applesauce.

I had 6oz of cinnamon (two spice jars) so I used about 4 oz of applesauce and more of both later when mixing.

You’ll need:
Applesauce
Cinnamon
Rolling pin
Cookie cutters
Baking sheet
Yarn or string
Straw or toothpick

Mix up your dough, make sure it’s not too sticky or too dry. It should form a ball that is playable and doesn’t crumble to bits when you squish it with both thumbs. I got it to where it was a little too moist, but the. added cinnamon around the ball and on the table as a buffer for my rolling pin. Roll it to 1/4 or 1/2 inch thickness. If it’s too thin, they will break easy. Use cookie cutters to cut shapes and then poke a hole with toothpicks or straws and place on cookie sheet. Bake at 200 for 1 hour and then flip them. Bake for 30 minutes more. Check for them to look dry and to be hard as rock.

Take them out a d let them cool. Then string them up! You can also add glitter if you would like. Just paint on the glue or modge podge, add glitter and let dry.

I made 98 of them but one broke in a firmness test. I’ll post more pictures when I get them done tonight or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

