How Do They Live Without You?

Growing up in church, I am increasingly aware of how much I leaned on my faith throughout life. News broke this morning from Newton, Connecticut as a 24 year old man went into his old elementary school and into a classroom of 5 and 6 year old children and take the lives of 20 children and 6 adults after killing his own mother? As my heart aches for children and families, and for the family of the shooter, a brother of which was found at the school but has not been connected to the shooting, I cannot imagine life without God.

How can those families of the children who walked away from the shooting sit down and simply tell their children that “we’re all safe, so we’re okay?” That is exactly what NBC mentioned on their live news feed today, which I have had playing since early this morning.

How can people live without believing in a higher power? How can they live without the reassurance and peace that God provides? Non-believers might think that we use religion as a crutch, but if that crutch keeps me believing and having faith in humanity–then so be it. I know that the peace I feel wrapping around the gut wrenching sickness in my stomach is God. God giving peace in trials, in struggles, and in sadness.

I don’t know how people live without God, makes me feel the need more and more to live my life as an example for Him.

How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them?-Romans 10:14

One thought on “How Do They Live Without You?

Leave a Reply

