A Crazy Love

The failures of humanity.
Parents fail us. Spouses fail us. Friends fail us.
The devil uses those close to us to lie to us unknowingly. God uses strangers to speak truth into your life.
Speaking with a mother of two today who has been emotionally and verbally torn down by her own father, I realized how much our society has slipped. Parents have been known throughout time to fail their children, and children to fail their parents–but now it seems like everyone is failing each other. In a world driven by the “Me” generation, where everything is at your fingertips and catered directly to the individual, we’ve forgotten the importance of “us” and “you.” Even in the Christian or religious realms. It is no longer about the lost as it should be, as it is no longer about love.
This crazy love of a perfect Father, trumping any earthly father, spouse, friend, or stranger. A love that brings the cross to humanity, death to life, and peace to the hurting.
When the whole world is looking for love, acceptance and a place to belong, even the Church is pushing people away and laughing because they are different.
I work with dozens of teenagers in South Jersey. I work with believing and non-believing teens. I work with crazy teens, dancing teens, talented teens, teens who struggle with eating disorders, addictions and abuse, teens who have great families, teens with horrible parents, teens in general. I have learned so much over the last year and a half of working with teens in ministry in Jersey. Ups and downs, friendships and break ups, its like high school all over again, but this time I can help people.
It’s amazing how these teens trust me. They have no reason not to, but I feel so unworthy. I haven’t done anything spectacular. I’ve loved God my whole life. I’ve sought His ways in my life and for whatever reason He chose me to work with them.
When I first moved to NJ I knew I would be working with teens at our church. There was a void and I could easily fill it. They needed a woman.
Out of 30-40 teens, over two-thirds were female. As much as they needed Cliff to help speak and give new life to messages and sermons, they needed me to just be. At first it was awkward. I had told God that I just didn’t understand pre-teen and 13 year old girls. Frankly, they scared me. And low and behold, guess what I got? Ninety-five percent of those two-thirds of girls, were 12-13–all I could think was, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!
Our first event was the Winter Retreat in 2011. A year and a half later I can see how much I’ve grown, and how much the girls have grown. I wish I had done more. I want to influence them and be there for them but I just feel so inadequate at times. I know God has placed us in this place “for such a time as this” (Esther 4:14) So I do what I know how to do best-love on people and show them their importance. Our loving God loves each person, in spite of themselves. When others fail them, God remains the same, steadfast, unfailing. A crazy love.
Hurt people, hurt people. But loved people, love people.

Leave a Reply

