Are You Washing in the Blood?

I’ve noticed more and more that the things I sing in my heard are meant more for me to hear than for my personal enjoyment. After getting upset with a co-worker who simply does not understand her job and I constantly (along with others) have to go behind her and fix her work, I walked to the bathroom. While going into the stall this song came into my mind.

Are you washed in the blood,
In the soul-cleansing blood of the Lamb?
Are your garments spotless? Are they white as snow?
Are you washed in the blood of the Lamb?

Immediately I knew I was wrong in what I had said and how I had acted about my coworker. Granted she should KNOW how to do her job as she has been working with my company for MONTHS. However, it is not my place to judge her. I’ve noticed more and more that I tend to judge without realizing–when a car is flying down the highway, when a person dresses inappropriately, etc.

Now I know that being a Christian means that you are held to a higher standard because you believe. Not that you think you are better, but that you are trying to be like Christ and therefore choose to not behave a certain way because of that desire. I saw this phrase on someone’s Facebook under the “religious views” section:

“I don’t blame people who don’t know Jesus for acting like people who don’t know Jesus”

How true that statement is and how often people who are Christian do not follow that simple principle. You cannot hold someone to a standard they have not accepted. It’s simply not fair. I pray that God helps me to catch myself as he did today and to prevent me from more judgmental thoughts like those.

Here is the next verse:
Are you walking daily by the Savior’s side?
Are you washed in the blood of the Lamb?
Do you rest each moment in the Crucified?
Are you washed in the blood of the Lamb?

Are You Washed In The Blood Of The Lamb
Elisha A. Hoffman
Published 1878
Based on Revelation 7:14

Leave a Reply

